Easter Piñata

happy-easter

 

I wanted to do something different. Something other than the traditional Easter egg hunt. Then an idea came to me, why not a piñata? Knowing my son, he’d enjoy whacking it to pieces. So I began to construct…

…The Egg Piñata!!

First, a game plan and then supplies. I looked up other piñatas and got ideas. I didn’t want to use crepe paper nor did I want to do a easy decorating technique. Apparently, I like things long and complicated. Now that I focused on a design, it was time to get the supplies. Everything I used was either free or cheap.

DollarTree1_JGA

Thank you Dollar Tree!! Everything $1! I got the balloons, tissue paper, and candy there. I got the glue and paint from Wal-Mart. The paper I used to I got in the mail, sales paper. I used flour and water to make the paste.

Time to start crafting!

IMG_1910

First, I blew up the balloon to the desired size. I found out too late that it was too big. I covered it with the ripped up sales paper and paste. I did several layers to make sure that the piñata didn’t collapse once I popped the balloon. I also found out that I put on too many layers. My son couldn’t break through. That was an amusing learning experience.

IMG_1919Next, the base coat. I chose white since I didn’t want to buy different shades of paint and I want to keep it light and springy.

I cut open a small flap near the top and filled the egg with candy. Next, was the decorations! This was the hardest and longest part of the egg’s creation. Man, it was long. It took me a day and a half for each color. Well, minus blue. Blue only took a day. Why so long? Because I’m the mother of a two year old and the technique I used took some effort. I cut up the tissue paper into 1 to 1 1/2 inch squares, twisted it around a pencil (then eventually popsicle stick) and glued them on.

IMG_1920

I decided to do a striped pattern.

I began with blue,

 

 

 

IMG_1925

 

 

then green,

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1928

then yellow,

 

 

 

 

IMG_1930

 

 

then purple,

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_1932

 

back to yellow,

 

 

 

IMG_1934

 

 

 

then green,

 

 

 

 

lastly blue. I will never again trust my eyes and judgement to make even stripes. Never, again. However, I will make another Easter piñata but with some modifications. I won’t make it as big. I won’t do so many layers which made it impossible for him to break. I’d use a tougher wire and install it better. And I will find or make a proper piñata stick. After all was said and done, I was pretty proud of my first piñata.

 

IMG_1938

Leave a Reply

