Achieving Dreams

“Keep your dreams, you never know when you might need them.”

AKA The Bucket List. Yes, I decided to be “original” and make my own bucket list. To be honest I just wanted to write down the things I want to accomplish (hopefully) before I die. It’s so easy for life to just pass you by without realizing it and not accomplishing the things you desire. I don’t want that to happen with me, especially with a new baby on the way. You can say my unborn son is the inspiration for me making this list now. I want him to be confident and know that he can accomplish the things he wants to do, no matter where he is in his life. It’s never too late and all things are possible. And I believe in order to put that knowledge in him, I will have to show him by doing some of the things I’ve always wanted to do in life. My desire is to do this consistently enough for him to realize that by having faith, utilizing one’s God-given skills, and allowing others to help, his goals will always be within reach.

“Cut not the wings of your dreams, for they are the heartbeat and the freedom of your soul.”

I had a semi-bucket list when I was a kid but I didn’t know it was a bucket list at the time. I managed to cross off a couple of things before I reached high school without realizing it. I had always wanted to go to Paris and London and thanks to my wonderful sister, who happened to be in the military at the time, I was able to see those places. I made my list, I had the faith, and I allowed the help. And that is something I want to do again, crossing off the things on my “Life To-Do List”.

It is a long list, probably cliche in some areas and seemingly impossible in others, but it’s my heart’s desire. These are things I hope to accomplish in my lifetime, with or without friends and family.

“A life without dreams
is like a garden without flowers.” 

        1. Learn japanese
        2. Write a book
        3. Participate in Susan G Komen Race for the Cure
        4. Have a spectacular 30th birthday
        5. Learn a belly dance routine
        6. Travel to Rome
        7. Travel to Greece
        8. Travel to Japan
        9. Travel to Bahamas
        10. Travel to Hawaii
        11. Travel to Virgin Islands
        12. Travel to New York City
        13. Go to Comic-Con
        14. Go to A-Kon
        15. Go to AFO one more time
        16. Learn to sew
        17. Learn to make costumes
        18. Go to Anime Expo
        19. Go to Yaoi-Con
        20. Go back to Key West
        21. Play Moonlight Sonata on the piano
        22. Play Canon in D on the piano
        23. Try to play the violin again
        24. See Yanni in concert
        25. See a live performance of a popular band I like
        26. See a broadway play
        27. Overcome the fear of dancing in public
        28. Overcome the awkwardness of dancing with someone
        29. Sell things I create
        30. Travel route 66
        31. Have another random road trip with Cab
        32. Experience an actual snow day
        33. See the Cherry Blossom Festival in Japan
        34. Fly first class
        35. Stay 2 nights in a luxury hotel
        36. Go on a cruise
        37. Visit the Palace of Versailles
        38. Visit the Forbidden City in China
        39. Visit the Louvre museum again
        40. Put Azrael in a good school
        41. Go to the Great Wall of China
        42. visit Bali, Indonesia
        43. Travel to French Polynesian Islands
        44. Publish a book
        45. Have Azrael think I am the best mom in the entire universe!
        46. Visit all 50 states
        47. See the pyramids of Egypt
        48. Go to Disney World and Disney Land with and without Azrael
        49. Learn to swim
        50. Get married
        51. Get a tattoo
        52. Ride the Shiekra in Busch Gardens
        53. See Northern Lights
        54. Make an amazing and healthy thanksgiving and christmas dinner
        55. Tour the Washington D.C.
        56. See the Grand Canyon
        57. See Mount Rushmore
        58. Take a photography class
        59. Get an amazing camera and camcorder
        60. Watch half of AFI’s top 100
        61. Teach Azrael to always have faith and trust God
        62. Have Azrael become a wonderful and loving gentleman
        63. Start a food/meal delivery service for the elderly
        64. Move to a place/city/state where it feels like home for the entire family
        65. Participate in family reunion every year
        66. Participate in Anime Club reunion every year
        67. Ride in a limo for a happy occasion
        68. Renew my passport
        69. Travel to Bora Bora
        70. Go on a spiritual vacation
        71. See West Side Story play
        72. Find a good church
        73. Get back to sexy after Azrael is born
        74. Paint a painting for fun
        75. Decorate pottery
        76. Go to the top of the Eiffel Tower
        77. Meditate twice a day
        78. Continue to blog
        79. Drink real champagne
        80. Travel to Santorini
        81. Attempt to learn French and Spanish again
        82. Continue to write poetry
        83. Visit New Zealand
        84. Tour London
        85. Visit the Taj Mahal
        86. Go inside Notre Dame
        87. Go back to Pike Place market in the warmer months
        88. Go up the Statue of Liberty
        89. Learn to make candles
        90. Have my own fresh herb garden
        91. Learn needlepoint and embroidery
        92. Learn to crochet
        93. Make many origami creations
        94. Read all the books on my to-read list on GoodReads
        95. Learn to hula
        96. Go whale watching
        97. Attend the olympics
        98. Send my dad to an 5-star golf resort
        99. Send my brother to the Super Bowl
        100. Eat lobster tail in Maine
        101. Go to Mardi Gras
        102. To be able to live off the interest of money
        103. To be able to incorporate my anniversary idea
        104. Wear a red evening gown and red shoes to a special occasion
        105. Eat at a famous 5 star restaurant
        106. Complete a 1000 piece puzzle
        107. See Sequoias
        108. Have a spa/pamper day
        109. Go to Venice
        110. Ride all the roller coasters at Mt. Olympus Park
        111. Go to a drive thru movie theatre
        112. Own a home
        113. Voodoo Donuts
        114. Go to Niagra Falls
        115. Make sushi
        116. To own a vacation/writing home (ex: Hemingway)
        117. Bake a pie
        118. Stay on Martha’s Vineyard
        119. Research Happiness Project
        120. Send/go with Suzie to see Phantom of the Opera
        121. Attempt a 3D puzzle
        122. Have Azrael create his own list

“It always seems impossible until it’s done.”

I am sure I will add more things to my list over the years. Especially as my life continues to change and watching my son grow up. I can’t wait to see what will be crossed off first!

“Go confidently
In the direction of your Dreams.
Live the life
you’ve imagined!”

One thought on “Achieving Dreams

  1. Hi Nova, I came across your bucket list and it’s heartwarming to read that your unborn son being your inspiration for the list.. It is a really long list, and I’m sure you’ll accomplish many of them over time, changing your list along the way..

    Wanted to share that I’ve just completed an iPhone app (adream) where people can share their dreams and goals in a fun way. It’s my little dream to help others achieve theirs in this small way.. Let me know if it helps you 🙂

    Best, Ray

    adream – http://adre.am/app (iPhone app)

Leave a Reply

